Hey im self taught and recently been learning some theory so i can expand my playing. Ive been studying your basic stuff such as chrod formation and scales and modes. I have a few questions and hope to get conformation from fellow posters.

1. I have found a chord that really interests me. This happens to be Fadd9 (xx3213). Now this is just F with a 9 added on top. My question/conformation is: can this be put in place of a regular F major in a chord progression as it is an F Major which is just expanded and does this go for other chords such as C7 rather than C etc?

2. When constructing a song, do you always have to start a chord progression and/or solo with respective key? If in E major, must first chord be E? Is this the same for solos?

3. Ive learned that the Aeolin mode is the minor for a respective key/scale. My question is: if i want to play a minor scale, do i find the respective minor from the key or if say in key of A can i just choose A minor?

4. Finally, do modes apply to all scales available? for example is an a minor pentatnic part of the aeolin mode or not? Does this only apply with pentatonics?

Help is greatly appreciated
2. no it doesn't have to start with e if the key is in e, also you can change the key throughout with the trusty play the 5th of the key in which your moving to.

3. if your in a minor you could use aminor scale and chord tones which are the notes in the chords you are playing use those as the note syou land on

4. minor pent is in the aeolin mode but the aeloin mode is not part of the pent, the minor pent is just an easy scale which have essecntially the strong notes in it with the minor scale the weak notes are in there too.
Gibson LesPaul Standard 1958 Custom Shop
Fender Stratocaster 70s Reissue
Charvel-Jackson Vintage Acoustic
Vox ac30