I have been watching a few videos on youtube (yes I was bored), and most of them were accoustic songs with fingerpicking. Now I want to learn some of these songs

so I was curious if I should be anchoring while fingerpicking or not, plz don't get into a huge argument like in the electric guitrar forum..

thx

pepsi
I anchor my hand, and play alot of classical pieces.

You are not supposed to, but im self taught and dont care what my form is like. I just play classical music for the challenge
it all comes down to pesonal preference, i fingerpick with my thump and index and anchor the rest.
MY Music
AMPS:
Chute CC-04 2x12
GUITARS:
Fender American Deluxe Strat SSS (with DG-20's)
Martin Dx-1
PEDALS:
Big Muff Pi Tone Wicker
Keeley Mod Bluesdriver
Holy Grail Plus Reverb
MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Boss RC-2 Loop pedal
Anchoring meaning resting your hand on the bridge?
Definately not. I rest my forearm on the corner where the top meets the sides and position my hand right over the sound hole. This way your hand is hanging right over the soundhold in a very natural position providing agility and better sound.
My advice to you would be to try not to, but it shouldn't lead to anything too harmful if you do, it's not like you are using your wrist to play the notes.
UG RPG - Big Band Jazz Group
Buckethead4Prez - String Bass

PM me to Join
probably anchor your ring and pinky finger on the pick guard so you have more precision and accuracy
no plx
i dont it is easier for me not to have my hand anchored just doesnt feel right when i do.
[highlight]MY GUITAR[/highlight]
Quote by TheAmaranth
I once broke a G-String while fingering an A minor.

A recent study shows that 92% of all teenagers have moved on to rap music. Put this in your sig if you are one of the 8% who stayed with real music.
thx alot pplz i think I won't after reading that
(and btw kam3 its "camel" not "camal", but ia gree completely )