Hey all, i'm new to the guitar community and hopefully will be here for a long time! I'm nearly 16 and have decided to buy an electric guitar, and i am also going to be starting the guitar as well!

I have looked at the 10 Commandments, but i still can't figure it out.

My current budget is about AUD$600-$700 (australian) and i have been advised to buy parts seperately and here are my main few things that i'm looking to buy:

- Guitar
- Amp
- Lead
- Case
- Strap
- Picks

I have read many reviews saying that packs are bad quality, i have also made a couple of choices to what i might buy.

Ok so forget about the case, strap, lead and picks for now, i can figure those out myself, I need more help in the guitar and amp areas.

I have talked to many of my friends for the past week, and am nearly 100% on what i am going to get.

Since i am just starting, i have taken some time to think. my playing style will mainly be metal/rock (for example - maybe some simple ACDC, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Foo Fighters), but as a beginner, my playing style could vary. And since i am deciding on a metal/rock mix, my chosen brand at the moment is Ibanez, however, with your advice it might change.

My chosen Ibanez guitar at the moment is th RG170DX (or GRG, im not sure). I have chosen this guitar, as it is a reasonable guitar and it isn't the worst one in the Ibanez range, but once again it could change with your advice!

My amp might be VOX 15 Watt amp, not sure of the model, but i based my decision on the fact that it is cheaper than Marshall Amps, however, it is better than other practise amps (fender, squier, etc.)