I've been playing for 6 months now and my tone is not were I want it. I've got ****ty equipment (ie. Squier strat and a fender Pro Junior), but even when I play on good equipment it's still not were I want it. A lot of people tell me that tone is in the hands. What does that mean? Are there any exercises to get better tones out of your hands?
"If my baby don't love me no more,
well I'm sure her sister will." -Jimi "Red House"

Gear
1983 Strat '57 Reissue
1964 Gibson ES-330
Dr Z Maz 38
Fender Pro-Junior

myspace.com/marcrobertwork
Well first things first. What kinda stuff do you play?
I'm a social drinker. When someone says "I'll have a drink." I say "So shall I!"
Well blues, for the most part, your going to want somewhat of a chunky sound so instead of putting extra trouble, try putting more bass into it. Mids can also help give definition to these notes, also use your neck pup (assuming you have one) to give it that warm fuzzy tone.
I'm a social drinker. When someone says "I'll have a drink." I say "So shall I!"
a trick i do quite often while playing blues ( i usually do it on g b and high e stings) is just very light palm muting so it makes it fuzzyer and its a very nice tone. things like this is what people mean when they say the tone is in the hands. eg say zz top or stevie ray vaughan could make pretty much any guitar they wanted to sound good. i hope this helps and try the light palm muting. you can hear it on songs like brown sugar by zz top off his first album
Call me Jack
tone in the hands? BS!
as your ear develops you get a better sense of what to do with ya tone, ie. lower the bass, take off some gain etc etc

buying some new equipment with factory settings will automatically give you particular tones tho, boss effects prcossers etc. ie. gt6, gt8.