hey im a total noob to tube amps and im getting a vox ad30vt soon. i noticed it has a tube pre-amp and im guessing that makes it a tube amp even if it has a solid stte circuitry or woteva. my question is how fragile does the tube make the amp? do you have to change the tube often? where can i get new tubes and how long can i expect them to last? do they cost much?
Member #29 of the Fender Armada. Pm Arlabester...
Co-Founder of the UG Hippie Club! PM me or Blynd_Snyper to join!

My Gear:
Fender Highway 1 Tele
Fender Blues Junior Amp
Korg Multi effects pedal
Peavey Millenium Bass
Peavey Bass Amp
well the tube are fragile but it your gentle with them they wont break. and tubes will last between 1- 5 years normally. i have groove tubes in an amp that have been in it since 1982. so they can last a LONG time.

replacing them is easy. you just wigle them out and slide the new ones back in
if it's just a pre-amp tube, it's still a solid state amp. and it doesn't make it extreamly fragile if it's anything like mine, and ive had it 2 years withoiut needing to change it
do NOT touch them with your bare fingers. the oils in you hand will get on the tube and create a hot spot. there for running more risk of a burn out and they wont last as long so just were a glove or something.
MEMBER 6 OF I <3 Online Putt Putt Group
Puttsecks?
Quote by DoTheEvolution
I like peni better. It sounds funnier.
"a group of naked guys jumped me, I have never seen so much peni ."
he likes peni

Captain of the Rage Against the Myspace Club. PM Bloody Mary to enlist.
you should never have to replace that tube in the lifetime of the amp, but to replace it you have to pull it out with good vigor then stick another one in.

THey're pretty damn touch too, my adv30vt slides aroudn in my car a lot and has had a few falls but still works like new.
Ibanez -> Peavey -> Eardrums

Apparently I'm on some list of people to listen to..?
Quote by rocknrollgod
^ you can also try washing your hands.