I've been thinking for a while now about expanding my recordings by adding a bass. I really do not want to spend an arm and a leg on one, yet at the same time, do not want to waste a hundred or 2 on complete garbage.

I've seen the Dean Playmate, the Parker Slammer, the low end Ibanez Soundgear etc. all on ebay pretty cheap.

Anyone have experience with any of these or something else?

Thanks,

Adam
I own a cheap Ibanez bass (£180 new) and i have to say i am very happy with it. I started playing bass with a stagg starter pack (amp + guitar and accesories £180) but the amp doesnt sound very good and the guitar just wasnt comfortable enough to play after a few years. So i just reccomend avoiding the Stagg starter package. Ibanez is worth a look though. i cant comment on the others.

EDiT - my ibanez is a GSR 200 by the way.
X

"Just wait till tomorrow
I guess that's what they all say
Just before they fall apart"
Last edited by twowheels at Aug 27, 2006,
http://www.rondomusic.net is your best bet. With a proper setup, they will play better than most MIM Fenders. Without the setup, they top all the low end Ibanez' and Squires. Do a search around here, this thread comes up at LEAST twice ever 5 days.

Dictator For Life of the fIREHOSE fANCLUB. PM Me, Tedrick, or Yertle to join.
Quote by Incubus_SCIENCE
http://www.rondomusic.net is your best bet. With a proper setup, they will play better than most MIM Fenders. Without the setup, they top all the low end Ibanez' and Squires. Do a search around here, this thread comes up at LEAST twice ever 5 days.

are they really that good? have you played any? cause i was looking of getting into bass and i didnt want to spend too much because guitar is my main thing. i doubt they're better than a properly set up Fender MIM though but ive never played one
My Rig
>MIM Fender Stratocaster and SX SJM-62
>various magicial noise boxes
>Peavey Classic 50 212

For the funk:
>Ibanez ATK300
>Acoustic B100
Quote by red star