I'm fairly new to the ghee-tar, self-taught, and I'm having problems with hamer-ons and pull-offs. They're too quiet.

Can anyone help? A video link maybe?
for hammer ons, you just gotta hit that **** really hard with your finger. if you can't do it really well at first, you're just gonna need to build finger strength (and probably accuracy). for pull offs, you gotta kinda pluck the string with your finger as you pull off to get a decent sound. maybe someone else can provide a better explanation... or just google how to do it. you'll find a tutorial somewhere.
Banging on a trash can
Drumming on a street light
seriously, use a search engine. "hammer on guitar", "hammer on video", "hammer on guitar video lesson", or watever

and in UG, there is a column on tapping called "steal that video". search for "steal that video" in the UG.
Fender Mex Cyclone HH
**ZOOM G7.1ut**
Yamaha COD-100 Overdrive
Big Muff Pi USA
Danelectro Chorus
Behringer EQ
Dinosaur Heavy Metal

member #4 of the "can't we forget about punk, emo, metal, and all the other subgenres and just ROCK?" group
When doing hammer ons, make sure you use the tip of your finger as opposed to the more fleshy part which could result in muting. It should be a sharp, hard action for which you need to just have the confidence to go for it, or it will sound quiet. Same goes for pull offs, just try to give it a good clean twang, and remember practice makes perfect.
Well, if you just started playing, then obviously your fingers are still weak. They don't sound because you aren't depressing hard enough. I'm not saying to go punching your guitar to do hammer-on's, but to keep practicing it normally, and you will gradually gain strength in your fingers and they will sound a lot more.

-Alex.
"Insecticon" of the Predacons Beast Wars Club
PM NightmareXT To Join!

You make me feel
Like a dog, you can see, my emotions
Is this for real, i'm a man
Sinking deep, in the ocean