I'm a complete newbie when it comes to circuits, as have just started learning about electronics today.

Basically, I'm trying to copy a diagram for a Tube Screamer into a program called Mutisim, but I've got stuck on a few parts of it.

Could someone tell me what is going on in the bits I've circled in red in the picture? I don't know what they are, or how to put them onto my diagram.

Any help appreciated, thanks

Quote by Liberation
Every time I see your avatar I want to slit your neck with a butterknife. Goddamn Pingu.
the 500K and 10K things are Potentiometers (sp?), and i think the black dots are ground connections, but i'm not sure. the +9V should be connected to the +ve battery connection
Quote by Dave_Mc
how do those marshall handles compare tonewise to, say, mesa handles?

Owns a Blackheart Little Giant...
Thanks, potentiometers is correct

Where would the -ve battery connection go then?

I don't see why the black dots would be grounds, 'cause they have ground connections there already.
Quote by Liberation
Every time I see your avatar I want to slit your neck with a butterknife. Goddamn Pingu.
The +9v is the battery positive connection
The 500 Log drive, 10k tone, and 100k level are all off board pots (potentiometers)
IC=4558 refers to the dual op-amp which is represented as the two triangles in your diagram.
The 4.5v bias connections refer to a part of the circuit (not shown) which derives a 4.5v voltage from the 9v supply. See here for an explanation - http://www.geofex.com/Article_Folders/TStech/tsxtech.htm
Cheers

I'll give that site a look. Hopefully I'll understand some of it...
Quote by Liberation
i think the black dots things with the swigglies are resistors but i could be wrong, and probably am hopefully this helps.
The Set-Up

Gibson Les Paul/Fender MIA Deluxe Strat --> MXR Super comp --> Boss DD-3 --> Dunlop Crybaby --> Need an amp, wanna sell me one?