A little backgroud from me: I am really not musically gifted. I played the trombone in the 5th grade, but that's as far as I went with music. I decided to purchase a guitar in April (a month short of turning 37) and purchased some lesson books. I picked around for a couple weeks and got frustrated because I wanted to play songs I liked, not "Spanish Theme" using the E, F and G strings. So, over the summer a former student (I am a teacher), who is a pretty good player, gave me the tab for a Hootie and the Blowfish song. I first tried to learn the chords, but I just wasn't getting it. I basically had trouble with the strum patterns. I figured I better get some lessons.
I've been to 2 lessons (just got back from the 2nd lesson, actually) and I am trying to play the intro to "Time" from Hootie and the Blowfish. I have got it down, well enough to play at my own pace, but not keep up with the song when played by the group. I have learned how to pick and strum the intro, but am struggling with the little things (like how hard to strum, getting my fingers in the right positions on the strings and frets, and speed between chords).
Any advice, suggestions, and/or tips for a TOTAL BEGINNER would be greatly appreciated

P.S. My fingers are killing me...anyway to tuffen' them up??
Last edited by 89Radian at Aug 29, 2006,
As always, you need to PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE, repetition is the only way to get speed in between the chords, just practice playing the chord, strumming it once, then moving on to the next chord. Don't go too fast, just go slow and then build speed.

2004 MIM Strat w/ Fender Hot Noiseless pickups
Sovtek MiG 60
Avatar 2x12 w/ Celestion Greenbacks
Snark Tuner
MXR Custom Comp
Fulltone Full-Drive 2
Dunlop JHM3 Univibe
TC electronic Nova Delay
TC electronic Arena Reverb
Just keep on playing, bro. After about a week they'll toughen up big time.