hey im a pretty decent guitarist but it seems like whenever i try to play in front of people (friends, family, random people, etc) my fingers just lock up and i completely mess up songs i play perfectly by myself, but the minute they leave or i start playing alone again i can play it fine. any ideas as to why this is and what i can do to improve my playing in front of people?
Im the same i can play, create and do some cool things on guitar on my own but as soon as im with anyone its all gone and i mess up playing simple things and start feeling embarresed. In my case i normaly leave the guitar and do something else.
I've had this problem too, its all a confidence issue. Practice visualizing yourself kicking some ass in front of a ton of people. Like imagine yourself executing perfect solos while people are watching, if you are struggling with performance anxiety doing so is often difficult, but once you can its a big step in the right direction. Also concentrate on your mechanics, are you doing anything differently than when you are by yourself? If you only practice sitting down with the guitar on your right leg...when you stand up hand position becomes a big issue. Get into the music, don't worry about what people think, and it'll all come together.
well i pretty much play standing up all the time but typically when i play in front of people im sitting down, plus i do really outlandish stuff when im alone (jump around, yell, sing, etc) but when i play in front of people im just sitting on a chair or the floor all quiet not saying anything, just playing. and i might hit a wrong note then my fingers literally lock up and ill just reptitively hit wrong notes and then i just look like an idiot. When im all alones i just jump around my room and hand is flying up and down the fretboard and i do just find.