ive finally got my electric guitar. i decided that i loved the les paul style after playing a few at the music shop, so i massively busted my budget and got an epiphone les paul std in vintage sunburst!!! because i busted the bank, i had to get a cheap amp. i went for a marshall mg10cd. its plenty loud enough for my needs, but it just sounds terrible. i am an absolute beginner with the electric, (although i have been playing an accoustic for 10 months) it sounds nice clean, but when i put the overdrive on it sounds crap. ive tried twiddling all the knobs and it sounds a bit better if i have the vol on the guitar as low as it can go, but its still not nice. what can i do?? please help!!
Wow, a beginner with good ear for tone!

The MG series, in general, are pants. See if you can take it back to the shop and get another practice amp.

In the price range you're looking at, I'd recommend Kustom practice amps. They're by no means amazing, but they're a damn sight better than the MG series
A dwarf might hear you. What then?

My Music
I would recommend a new amp when you can afford one, if your planning on playing with lots of overdrive...However, it might sound slightly better depending on what your playing..no offence...But yeah, I advise a new amp, when ya can afford one, or just play on a cleaner setting where it does sound half decent.
i thought that would be the answer
ill see if i can take it back, the trouble is it is the perfect size, it just sits on the little shelf under my fish tank perfectly!! i dont want one any bigger.
Save up your money and get a good amp
I recommend Marshall MG250DFX
It's quite big,(60cm wide + 40cm high)and very loud.
It will last for ages
And you can make echo sounds with it and stuff, like the pink flooyd phsyacadilc stuff.
Its costs £265 but honestly its worth it,
I started playing 4 months ago and got that and love it too bits
Don't worry about size, stick it in the corner of your rooom or something.