If anyone considers themselves a pretty decent guitar player and can shred I'd like you to tell me how you learned to shred. I've been playing guitar for 4-5 yrs and I've been hung around a lot of classic rock and blues rock type stuff but I just really want to be about to all out shred. I've never taken any lessons but I feel I can hold my own on the guitar. I would preferrably like to hear from someone that learned to shred on their own and not from taking lessons. But if have taken lessons and would like to teach me anyways go ahead. If anyone has any websites or anything at all that could help me with this let me know. Thanks.

P.S. I'm talking like Buckethead, Kirk Hammet, Eddie Van Halen type shredding.
Practice.
It's not what you want to hear, but: Practice.
Play scales, learn solo's from whatever bands you listen to, just practice.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Oh I know i have to practice and would love to practice at it i just dont really know what to practice...I was hoping someone could give me something to get me in the right direction
Probably your best bet is the John Petrucci Rock Discipline book.
George W. Bush for President 2012

We can do it if we work together!
sweeping, tapping, economy picking, tremelo picking, string skiping, legato, scales...learn all of these and then use it to play shred
start at the lessons section of UG
Check out my latest recording on my profile
If you don't have a metronome yet, get one right now. Get off your computer, go get it, come back to UG. Playing fast is nothing if it isn't in time.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.