Page 1 of 2
Im new to Bass and i did some searching and found out there are such things as bass chords.(as in strumming ) Mind you, all I've ever listened to was rock,but i've never heard any bass chords being strummed in songs at all.Is it used more in funk or what?I heard Geddy Lee has experimented with them.Can someone give me more info?
Gibson SG Special
Marshal AVT275x Amp
Steve harris (Iron Maiden) uses them a lot. the intros to fear of the dark, the reincarnation of banjamin breeg etc. In those two songs he also incorporates them into the main song.

Les claypool (primus/solo/god knows how many others) uses them too- he applies flamenco style strumming to his lines, he really is unique in my opinion.
Quote by Dogruitag
i think he wants to dream theater to be considered more metal, so he dyed his beard.

Quote by LookAlive
Lmfao, this is the best thread ever, aside from the fact that it involves a girl being harpooned through a tent.
Les probably got flamenco style from Geddy.

Aces High is another song w/ bass chords (well, not technically, power chords) in the intro.

Tool has some cool chord work (in the 2 note sense, not the 100% correct 3 notes = 1 chord sense)
haha
Quote by MetalUpTheAss
Les probably got flamenco style from Geddy.

What's flamenco style? :P
AFAIK, Using one finger to strike a string and hitting it twice per each tiem you send your finger down, because you hit it once bringing the finger down, once bringing it up.
haha
The intro to Orion by Metallica has Cliff using bass chords.

INTRO
G|--------4-----------|
D|-----------------4--|
A|-7------5-------6-|
E|-0------------------|
K but are there any basic chords on bass?or are they all power-chord-like(referring to guitar)
Gibson SG Special
Marshal AVT275x Amp
Quote by MustangMan311
The intro to Orion by Metallica has Cliff using bass chords.

INTRO
G|--------4-----------|
D|-----------------4--|
A|-7------5-------6-|
E|-0------------------|