Hey! How are you all?

I am thinking of buying an electric guitar. I play the acoustic for one year, and I'd like to "move" :P

Now, I was thinking of an Ibanez RGR220DX, but for 600? (nearly the same in US$), it's too expensive for me (i'm 17), and it was ONLY the guitar.

I took a look at the music store, and they have a Squier Strat' for 200?, and included is a *SMALL* amplifier, strap, case, DVD, extra strings and a pick or two.

Now, is a squier guitar good? What do you advise me to buy?

The thing is, I like (hard)rock/metal, and so I'm thinking of covering AT LEAST Iron Maiden, Scorpions and the solo in "Open Your Eyes", by Alter Bridge (i'm kinda good at solos). What ELSE will I have to buy?
If I buy a squier, I'll have the guitar plus an amplifier. Will I need any kind of distortions/effects for, for example, the heavy parts of "Still Loving You", or "Hallowed Be Thy Name"?
How do I know which ones I should buy? And their names?....

Sorry I'm really a beginner at electric guitar... and I'm learning by myself, without anyone helping me, so I'll start to be dependent of this forum afterwards

So, summing up, for a beginner, is a Squier good enough? And, will I be able to play more heavy musics with it? If so, what else would I need to buy?

Thanks for your time

Regards
angelofwisdom

p.s.: forgive my english i'm portuguese
Squiers are alright if you're only just beginning.

And the Squier won't do the music you want to play very well.

How much do you have to spend altogether on a guitar and an amp?
"Breathe, breathe in the air
Don't be afraid to care"

Fender Strat/Tokai LS80>few pedals>Orange Rocker 30
for a beginner beginner, like someone who has never picked up a guitar before then maybe, but you are already an acoustic player and I would say that you know what a decent sound is (you must have heard someone playing electric guitar in a shop in the past year surely) and I assume you know your basics.

Go for a more expensive one, in my opinion.