i believe this is the name of the big bass that goes an octave or 2 below a regular stand up bass and is played by two people at the same time. anyway, how common are these things? ever used in any notable recording sessions? know where i can hear an example of one being used? i would for sure love to use one of these things on a really heavy song.

sorry if there is already a thread about this, this is my first time in the bass section despite having been on this board for a few years.
I though Dr. Octobass was Spider-Amp's arch nemesis, but i guess i was wrong
MARK ALL THAT APPLY:

[_] [_] [_] [_] [x]

Quote by cagnius
Shut up. Actually, higher mods...can we ban him for being a cunt?
Yeah them basses were only used in the 17th centuray and no they didn't go 2 octaves below a normal tuned bass. They had frets, were 8ft tall and yes were played by 2 people, one for the bow and one for the fretting. Not even a picture of one, I did a project ages ago about the origin of the bass and anyways that big bass turned into a double bass after removing the frets and making it alot smaller.

Also, 2 ocatves below a normal tuned bass would make it nearly impossible to hear since we have a low hearing range in the bass department. Plus the strings would have had to been nearly 2 metres long and about as thick as telephone poles!! Haha.
it was tuned C#F#BE with the E being the same as on regular bass

if you want to hear that low of a range, look up Jean Baudin.
Nuclear Rabbit > Every other band ever in the history or everything
-Fender Deluxe Active P-bass (60th anniversary)
-Peavey T-40 (1982)
-Hartke HA-3500
-Aguilar GS 2x12
-GK Backline 2x10
I want one. Don't know What I'd use it for, but it'll be really cool to own.
Are you ready for some hardcore man on Manatee action?