I know I'm going to get so badly owned for this, but I'm fed up.

Can someone please explain, in really really simple terms, how you can do them reliably?

I've read how to do them elsewhere, I've seen people do them, and they've explained how to do them, but I still can't get it right. They'll explain how to do it, but then do it so quickly I can't even see what they're doing.

I'm told that you fret the note just as you would normally (not like a harmonic), pick the note and then catch it with your thumb... but the only way I can see that working is if you bend your picking hand really weirdly...

I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I reckon I'm just above average with everything but I just can't seem to get this right. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Jack
www.myspace.com/stcircusthemighty

Check it out. If you like what you hear, friend me.

Quote by Rikifield
Nice acoustic man! And your voice is melting with the acoustic sound...
It's hard to describe. It's easier to understand if you see someone do it.

What I do is I rest the pick on the string, holding it so that only the very tip of the pick sticks out from under the thumb.

Then, push the pick with your thumb. It goes 'through' the string, and as it rings, it hits your thumb and makes that harmonic. I find it easier on the fat strings, cos they vibrate more.

You gotta find the places to do it, though. It takes experimentation and practice.

Good luck!

EDIT: a deep vibrato really helps bring the harmonic out. See Zakk Wylde. He's the master of this.
Thanks very much =)

Hopefully I'll have more luck in future.

Quote by Rikifield
You also have to find the 'sweet spot' on the string. Fret a note and try and do the harmonic at differnt points along the string with your picking hand.. You'll see that a clear harmonic only occurs at certain points.
Gear:
Ibnaez RG1570 Prestige
Maton EM225C Acoustic
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Digitech DF-7 Distortion Pedal