Is there any tricks to solos? I can get a few solo's down everyonce in a while, but sometimes they seem impossible. I've been playing seriously for about a year and a half now and I can't seem to do scales or anything. No matter how much I practice it doesn't seem like I get any better at them. My fingers move fast enough, it seems like the pick doesn't, any techniques or practice ideas to get better at it??
get used to hammering and pulling off, practice songs that use hammering/pulling off in them..
everyone moves at a different pace just slow down what your trying and take it piece by piece.
Join the club. I've been playing for 5 years and I still can't play lead.

But then again, having a teacher for only a year could explain it.
Quote by denied
practice youre scales with a metronome. start of slowly, and only speed up as youre comfortable. also, practice common techniques..bending, slding, hammer on/pulloffs...

do that
Got bored left. Got bored where I went away to. Came back.
actually play the solo's in time, like slow down and do them at quarter speed but keep 16th notes as 16th notes, and 8th's as 8ths etc. so really focus on the timing of each note in relation to eachother to be precise, and then repeat that until you can do it blind folded and slowly speed it up.
Marty
Alright, thanks. I'm pretty good with the hammer ons and pull offs.. I guess practice is all I need.