Well I started playing back in January, and still can't seem to strum and sing at the same time, I end up strumming with my words, like each syllable is 1 strum, it's really quite annoying but I honestly can't do it. I'd love to be able to, anyone have any advice?
do it more and more everything is practice sadly...
Cort G290 EMG 89/SA/SA
Cort MR 780FX

#19 Member of The Black Tooth Grin: Dimebag Memorial Group. PM Narmi.

Founder of the "Cort Domination Group"
yeah...i have the exact same problem. Im trying to practice and stuff but its just hard. practice sucks lol
Well I love practicing, just dont love singing I play guitar like ALL the time, so I guess I'll just practice more, I thought that singing with it was like super basic though ~_~
ive been playing for about 10 months. i am probably the worlds worst singer, it may be completly out of tune but atleast its in time!! what i tend to do is play along with the song im learning on my mp3 player, then when ive nailed it i do it again but try singing along with it, i get as far as i can without cocking up, then as soon as i do, i rewind and start again until i can do the whole song without any **** ups. this may take several evenings. then once i can play and sing along with it ive cracked it and dont need the mp3 player anymore. once you have done a couple, it gets easyer and easyer.
just takes a little practice and a little time, i got my acoustic for christmas this year and after about a month i can sing and strum in time
My Gear:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster
Epiphone Sheraton II
Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue
Teese RMC Picture Wah
MXR Carbon Copy
Keeley Modded TS9
Korg Pitchblack
Schecter Omen 6
Dean Performer Acoustic