Hey everyone, I need some ideas on what kind of guitar to buy, when/if it's better to upgrade, pedal advice, etc.

Right now I've got a Squier Standard "Black & Chrome" Fat Strat and a Cube 30 amp. It's pretty good, I can get some nasty sounds with the humbucker and the cube's gain, but as soon as I have max gain and 5+ volume I get loads of feedback. I'm new to guitars, so I have no idea if most guitars have this or not. Anyway, for songs with less distortion it sounds pretty good too.

But I'm thinking about getting a new guitar, mainly because I'll be getting into more advanced stuff and the feedback thing (depending on if it's normal or not) . I've also heard the whammy bar I've got will make my strings go out of tune really quickly, since it isn't double locked. I also only have 22 frets instead of 24.

I mainly play metal, getting into shred, but I like the occasional softer song too.

But as I said, I'm pretty new and I don't know much about different guitar companies.

So..I'd just like to know if you guys think I should upgrade or buy a new guitar sometime in future, or if I should get a pedal (noise gate for that feedback problem?) Which kind of guitars are good for shred, opinions on humbuckers (which guitars have good humbuckers? Or should I get one and replace 'em?), some info about the whammy bar thing, what's the difference between active and passive pickups, and anything else you can be bothered to type out.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by Kailoq at Sep 15, 2006,
*bump!*

Sorry, but there's just too much new threads and I'd like some advice :P
The feedback is normal, try turning away from the amp so your guitar insnt facing it. Your also probably too close to the amp, which can cause unwanted and uncontroled feedback so get further away from it.