Ive been playing guitar for about 5 months now and ive recently learnt how to play sweet child o mine. I can play it perfectly, but it still doesnt sound right. How can i get it to sound like slash's? if this is any help, ive got only a mini 10 watt drive amp and a epiphone special 2.
Last edited by Russianrambo at Sep 16, 2006,
Make sure you roll back your tone knobs on the guitar, and maybe use the neck pickup. He has a very mellow tone.
My Main Gear:
ESP Eclipse II
Jackson RRT-5
Dean Michael Schenker Signature Yin Yang
ESP LTD EC-1000 Deluxe
Gibson 2016 Les Paul Traditional T
Marshall JVM 410H/1960V Cabinet
You're not going to get his tone with crappy equipment.

I beleive he uses:
Marshall Tube with Groove Tubes
Gibson Les Paul with Alcino Pro II pickups by Seymour Duncan
You need tubes to get his sound Also slash plays tuned hlaf step down - try it
half step down yeah.... and try alternating through that song flipping betwen neck and bridge pickups, you can tell when he changes.
Founder Of The "Jimmy Page Stole All Of My Potential Riffs" Club PM To Join!.

Quote by CoreysMonster
Meh, I usually just buy them off the local shaman, unless I'm in the wilderness, where I rely on raw meat to raise my HP.
Try these settings: Bass-7 o'clock
Treble-11 o'clock
Mid- 11 o'clock
Use the neck pickup with the tone way down. I dont think you will be able to get close with you're gear though. You should also use a little reverb as well. That is the settings i use for sweet child o mine and it sounds close to me.
Quote by Russianrambo
Ive been playing guitar for about 5 months now and ive recently learnt how to play sweet child o mine. I can play it perfectly, but it still doesnt sound right. How can i get it to sound like slash's? if this is any help, ive got only a mini 10 watt drive amp and a epiphone special 2.

Dickless.
lol thats funny ^
[img]http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/9672/stevevaisigver24vf.jpg[/img]
Just an influence.