i'm not sure if this is the correct place to put this but what is the difference between passive and active guitar pickups
I shot JR

Oh Canada Our Home and Native Land
Active pickups take 9v batteries, passive pickups don't.
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure active pickups give a "heavier" sound.
Main gear (For complete list, see profile):
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain-top
Basswood Telecaster, 2 single-sized HB's, both split.
Epiphone Valve Junior
B-52 AT-412 Cabinet
Oh, and I have a Squier VM Jazz Bass too.
they are higher outputed or something. they only sound really good through a good tube amp no point in one with an amp like tht line 6 spider tht guy has or something^

they just dont get the full benefit out of them then.
so say i wanted to install some pickups in and ibanez guitar and i was leaning towards say EMG would i be able to put active pickups into it whithout a pre-amp or would i need passive pickups. for the record i don't really know what i'm talking about here i'm just going to get an ibanez on friday and i want to take out the tickups that are in it and put in some active EMG pickuos
I shot JR

actives still do sound good on solid state just better on tube. THe downside is if you and another guitar are playing through the same channel youll completely drain the other guys sound
I'm not sure about the preamp, though I don't think you need one, though do NOT go by what I'm saying.

I think you don't need preamp, and you don't need to route a cavity for the battery either. I think you can just insert it right behind the pickup?
Main gear (For complete list, see profile):
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plain-top
Basswood Telecaster, 2 single-sized HB's, both split.
Epiphone Valve Junior
B-52 AT-412 Cabinet
Oh, and I have a Squier VM Jazz Bass too.
Quote by Drmckool