Ive seen fretless guitars before and I was wondering if it would be a good idea to not put frets on a guitar. Are they any good? I was only wondering because putting on frets seems like a difficult thing.
You will find it hugely difficult to do bends, plus they're harder to play in other ways; you have to be very precise about where you put your fingers.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Well Would that not defeat the purpose of it being fretless
Basically I was just wondering because, it seems like its gunna be a bitch to put frets on it, so I was just looking for alternatives.
Quote by M4jorpiz
do it that would be sick it would sound so cool

Really, why? Do you know anything about this?

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Quote by fragydig529
Why not just use a slide? And not press the strings all the way down>?

Well that really wouldn't be the same as having a fretless guitar.

it`d be neat for lead, but chords are gonna sound like **** in the beginning

I`ve been playing fretless a good bit, and it`s pretty fun, what with the slides and vibrato...
Quote by amorebelladonna
Ive seen fretless guitars before and I was wondering if it would be a good idea to not put frets on a guitar. Are they any good? I was only wondering because putting on frets seems like a difficult thing.

I just finished a defretted guitar a few hours ago. I think I put the wrong strings on it but it sounds very nice with a glass... thing you put on your finger. I'm gonna put on some nylon strings and then I'll see

the whole process was really really easy, the only difficult thing was putting the strings back on and tuning it.