I have been trying to learn the solo to Children of Bodom's song Mask of Sanity but i cant do it! The way i am practicing it is piece by piece, i will learn one part of the solo and once im am up the speed and have mastered it then i will move onto the next part. But i have been practicing it for about 2 months now and i just CANT DO IT! For 1-3 hours a day every day just practicing it over and over slow and fast. Its pretty much all i do when i pick up my guitar now (except when im making riffs for my band). Im have been trying to get it for so long that im actually getting sick of even hearing the solo. I actually considering moving onto another solo i have been wanting to try and nail (Necrophagist's Foul Body Autopsy). Now i know that these solos (if you have heard them) are amazingly fast and technical but i just want to be able to play them To kind of prove to myself that i can and its killing me to think im giving up so easily.

Anyway, i was wondering if anyone has had this sort of problem and if it ever took you guys this long to master a difficult solo. Im not going to give up just yet but i just feel that my fingers literally can not go that fast. My fingers know where all the notes are and the positions to be in at the right times but i just cant do it the speed of the song.

Thanks.
"My strength is my determination" - Randy Rhoads (1956-1982)

Quote by LedZeppelin
Life is not an isolated moment, so don't live it as such.

Quote by bendystraw
art rock? isn't all rock art?
I have the exact same problem, with like 5 songs. I KNOW how to play it, I just cant get my fingers in the right place that fast.
all in good time man
the best advice i can give you is take it slow, practice it a bunch of times and sooner or later you will get it
if you get tired of trying to learn it, move on and come back to it in a few months, you will be surprised how much you have gotten better, ans how much easier it will be to learn it