Well 'bout a week ago I got myself a yamaha acoustic guitar and my friend told me how to read tabs and all that but I don't know if that's where I should start. somebody told me not to limit myself to tabs because it might handicap me in the future but I don't know where else to start. should i start by learning chords? or just practice by playing tabs or what? I'm supposed to goto my first lesson on Thursday but I don't really want to take lessons because the money for it is coming out of my mom's pocket.

Currently, I'm trying to play "Adam's Song" by Blink 182 and can only get down the first three notes in the intro, lol.
I would suggest chords to begin with. You will probably get the most satisfaction from learning them first...cause it is easier to improvise/muck around with chords. Then progress to learning other techniques. Check out some of the lessons on this site.
Hey there starrkid,welcome to the guitar player community.First of all I'm a self taught guitarist ,played for almost 2yrs.When i first bought my guitar,I know nothing bout guitar or chords.

So the first thing i remember doing is messing around the fretboards to get used to the position.I would suggest you to a warmup skill like 1,2,3,4, on each string.By doing this it will give your fingers more strength and accuracy.And Remember when you first start do it slowly,then slowly increasing the speed.And try to use up and down strummin of each string instead of only downward.Also used a pick too when u start,not thumb.