Hi guys and gals,
first post so don't be mean!
Ok here's the deal, I'm just starting out with guitars and have a little problem, albeit only on occasion. Every now and then when I turn on my amp I get an annoying buzzing sound (without touching a string). The only thing I can liken it to is the sound you get when you're picking up next door's child monitor. (I've heard it through my tutors amp too when my guitar is plugged into it). The next day when I pick up the guitar the buzzing is gone. I changed the jack socket on the guitar because it held the plug a little too loose for my liking.
Has anyone ever experienced this and have any corrective suggestions?

Guitar is a Strat American deluxe 2002 (or about that year) with noiseless pickups and the amp is a Vox AD50VT.

Thanks
Mine always seems to have this annoying buzzing sound about 10 seconds before my cell phone rings or whenever my cell phone is in a certain area around the amp. Seriously. It's the weirdest thing. It also does it with other people's amps and occasionally other people's phones. I don't know if that's your problem though.
not even "noiseless" pickups are always completely noiseless. And some areas are more active with electromagnetic interference than others. It's normal.
Hi, I'm Peter
I forgot to mention it's normally pretty silent. However, when it starts buzzing, I can stop it just by lightly resting my finger on any of the strings.
Quote by gcol
I forgot to mention it's normally pretty silent. However, when it starts buzzing, I can stop it just by lightly resting my finger on any of the strings.

Your guitar is poorly grounded. Do some internet research on silencing Strats. www.guitarnuts.com is a good place to start. You should shield the thing while you're at it. Fender (and most other manufacturers) have really pathetic factory wiring practices.
Hi, I'm Peter
Quote by Dirk Gently