I have been playing bass for about 4 months, and I've more than outgrown my crappy no-name squire clone. I play a a lot of older rock with good bass lines (old ozzy and maiden) and new stuff like the red hot chili peppers. I'm looking for a good 4-string bass guitar in the 500-1000 dollar range, but it needs to have clean tone, and a good eq, as I play a few diffrent types of music and it needs to be capable of a range of sounds. I've been looking into getting an Ibanez SR, but I just want to see what's available as I'm not to experienced when it comes to the different brands and stuff. Any ideas?
Dude, I'm the best bassist in my school, and I'm better then the kid in our jazz band. I haven't taken lessons before, but my dad taught me all of the theory I need. I also practice for at least 4 hours a day. Just becasue you sucked at the 4 month mark doesn't mean I do to. I wouldn't be asking this question if I sucked at the bass, would I?
Cool your arrogance. it's incredibly unlikely that your any good at all at 4 months. I'd say wait. And get a new amp first if you want a MUCH better sound.
Gear

Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Fender MIA Precision
Musicman Bongo
Boss TU-2
EBS TD650
EBS ProLine 2x10 x 2
Hey when I was playing for two months I was already better than people who had been playing for 3 years plus I had never picked up a stringed instrument in my life... I am just saying its possible to be THAT good in a short amount of time whether it be talent or whatever you want to call it...
Co-Founder of The Geddy Lee Fanclub
PM me or timmEH to join

#1 Rush / Yes fan of The Bass Militia
PM Dinky to join

Founder of The Ernie Ball MusicMan owners club and proud owner of a Black Sapphire Bongo 4 HHp
PM me to join