Page 1 of 2
Hey I've got a question.
I'm a guitarist who plays mostly classic rock but am just getting into shred. I currently have an SG special faded but am thinking of getting a Les Paul. The only problem is that the SG doesn't do so well with shred.
Now the question: Will shred work better on the LP or should I get a 'shredier' guitar like an Ibanez? Also, how do Ibanez sound on classic rock like Zep and VH?
By the way, am I right about the SG or do I just suck at shred?
Thanks
Ibanez, Jackson, and ESP are the best shredder guitars out there dude I think..The necks are very sleek and thin, and they play fast. Also, the body types and everything else about it is more comfortable. Go to a guitar store and try out different guitars to see
I've heard his name somewhere. Was he in whitesnake or thin lizzy?
well, it really comes down to a matter of taste & personal preference of feel on the neck

personally, SG's are better than LP's fer a shredding feel (& look)

but furthermore, I'd prolly go fer an Ibanez like u were saying because an LP won't necessarily "help u shred better"...
Quote by TheUltimateSin
I use a 26-fret 7-string Gilgamesh 4000XR with dual overdriven flourescent-orange Seymour Duncan pick-ups...My guitar is badass, beeatch.

best air guitar ever
What about amps? I'm pretty sure about going for a tube. Anything suggestions?
LP's arent great for shredding.
It's harder to reach the 18+ frets because of the shape.
But it's still a d*** fine guitar.
I have one myself, and i love it.
But go with an ibanez or ESP.
*Points to avatar*
              ┌────────────┐
            |  Jet fuel     |
            |  Can't melt    |
            |  Steel Beams  |
            └─────┰──────┘

Quote by Hidde
I've heard his name somewhere. Was he in whitesnake or thin lizzy?

Les Paul, the jazz guitarist? There's a thread with a video of him in Blues and Jazz.
(Slightly outdated) Electronic and classical compositions by m'self: Check 'em out