Well i'm a definite beginner and i'm trying to learn Must be Nice by Lyfe Jennings, but the problem is it involves strumming and i only know how to pick the guitar lol.

do you guys know how i should strum this?

e--------------------------------------------|
B--------------------------------------------|
G--7--6--3----------------7--6--3------------|
D--7--6--3----------------7--6--3------------|
A--5--4--1----------------5--4--1------------|
E--------------------------------------------|

i know you're supposed to hold down the strings, but im not sure if you're supposed to strum down on all of the strings, then strum up on the strings or what.
I thought strumming was instinctive...

Oh, learn to hit just the three strings that you require (will take some time/practice in your cames) , or just use the bar chord form. But I assume you can't bar yet.
When I first started, like the first 2 or 3 weeks I couldn't strum properly. It just comes to you I guess. Especially up & down strokes together, I had trouble make them sound right, but just let your pick slide across the strings, and learn how to mute strings that shouldn't be played.
Originally Posted by acousticpyro23
Bitch get off my nuts.

Originally Posted by Vigilantius
I asked my mom for a cell phone once, and she said I don't have any friends anyways.
I just learned how to strum (still can't switch chords fast though) But you always want to keep a steady rhythm with your hand. Don't try to move your hand to the rhythm, instead, just miss the strings instead of stopping your hand movement.

Idk, its hard to explain but this is what I was taught and it seems to be working.

-edit I've only learned one song so far, so idk if it is like this for everysong.
for that song would I have to strum up and down, up and down, or just strum down?

edit - how would you know what the strumming pattern is like someone said lol.
Last edited by staRRkID at Sep 23, 2006,