ive already asked this in the newbie Q and A forum, but i am looking for more answers. basically, i have a crappy silvertone, and i cant get down to the 17-20 frets, or my hand is squished, and i dont like it one bit. i liked it, untill i started playing Aint talkin bout love's solo~ by van halen~ and i couldnt do it cause of my guitar, or maby my hands to big but anyway. i need a good sounding guitar, where i can actually play the 17-20th frets. for about $500 usd. thanks.

also i am looking to play songs by van halen, acdc, metallica, papa roach,and lynyrd skynyrd. and more of course, if that affects your decision
A few companies you could check out as a starting point are Ibanez, Schecter, maybe an Epiphone, or even Fender, although I'd stick between the first two.

What kind of amp do you have?
Gear:
Fender Standard Telecaster (Sunburst Finish)
Washburn X-Series Electric (Black Finish)
Ibanez Electric-Acoustic (Black Finish)
Ariana Acoustic

Randall RX120D Halfstack
i have a crappy practice amp , im only 13 and cant afford much more. its a randall ra15g, also, any specific models of guitars?
if u like playing metal and all that ESP's are great for that. check out the ec 400
check out most 24 fret guitars. you may not use the extra two frets very often when covering songs, but they are nice to have when improvising or making your own. however the reason why i recommend a 24 fret is that it makes the 17-22 frets play really easily.
as far as models go, try out the ibanez RG series. if you pay less than 700 dollars for it i would recommend getting one with a fixed bridge, not a floyd. makes it cheaper, thus better parts for the same price, and lower end floyd roses generally arent worth your time.