haha. sheet music is necessary for everything. if you truely want to be an accomplished guitarist, then you need to be able to read sheet music well.
its necessary if your going to go to college for music, are you planning on doing music for a career probably?
yes, but not for guitar. i can for everything else-literally. bass clef, treble clef, sax, french horn.
Quote by corduroyEW
Cheap amps are "that bad". They suck up your tone like cocaine at Kate Moss' party.

I am Michael!
Necessary? Naw, not really.

I read it though. To be a well-rounded musician it's a must-be-able to do thing though.

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
^agreed.

or to rephrase that, to play an instrument besides guitar reading music is needed. I know from piano + euphonium.

And no, if you are just playing guitar you dont really need to know how but you still need to learn the notes on the board and theory IMO
I think it helps with scales. Especially exotic scales. I think its worth it.
Quote by apocalypse13

Quote by Beckerism
I ain't ghetto foo! I's just keeping it real!

Keep it real man.
Click.
yes i think it's helpful but not neccesary to shred.
Quote by Jimi Hendrix
The Blues Is Easy To Play But Hard To Feel.

Quote by Chris Impellitteri
I Promise That My Solos Will Only Get Faster.
[Practice Makes Perfect][Hell Yeah]
I can, but VERY very slowly.
Please vote for my band in a demo competition by clicking
here, pressing the button that says "Gi din stemme" and then connecting to facebook! Thanks a lot!
Necessary? I dont think its necessary but its handy and good to know.

As for me, i too can read, but ridiculously slow...
"Play with your ears" - Yngwie Malmsteen, Paul Gilbert
Thats what she said...
UGmusic