OK guys please help me out here, i'm new in this thing of soloing:

how do you know or what determine what scale to use when composing or improvising a solo for example, you came up with a riff, how do you know what scale would work when you play a it over the riff?

Sorry for the spelling, my english is really bad if you have problem undestanding the question please let me know and i will try to make it as clear as i can.
the solo and riff should just be in the same key...
"Music is religion for me. There'll be music in the hereafter, too." - Jimi Hendrix
I dont think he means by key. I think he is referring to a scale in a certain key. Like, the Pentatonic, Major, Minor, Blues. One of those. I have the same question.
Seattle Seahawks

Quote by chookiecookie
i feel like you have an obsession with aubrey plaza.

Quote by WCPhils
at least we can all agree SGstriker is the woooooooooooooooooooooorst
ok i'm getting it so if i came up with a riff like this

you could use a ''E'' pentatonic or and ''E'' maj/min.

e ------------------------------------------------------
b ------------------------------------------------------
g ------------------------------------------------------
d ------------------------------------------------------
a --2-----------5-----------4----------5-4-----------
e --0---0-0-0-3---0-0-0-2---0-0-0-3-2-----------

(jus made up the riff as a example)
Record the riff a few hundred times (lol), and then practice playing different scales over it and see which one fits best.
Talk to Erowid

Quote by dead-fish

Tell me when thy band shall return to mark a schedueled performance on my nearest venue's door!
Quoth teh Loomis, "Nevermore".

Member #9 of the "Marty Friedman > You" Club. PM apocalypse13 or altronataku to join.
first look at all the notes your using in your riff.

E-B-G-D-F#-C#

put them in order

E-F#-G-B-C#-D

E dorian = E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D would work or

Emin pent(if u wanna be simple) = E-G-A-B-D-E