I love listening to Lamb of God and Fear Factory. I have been playing for nearly two years and can play fairly fast. However, I have lots of trouble with 16th notes, so much in fact I can't play them and full speed. Also, I love Fear Factory but their riffs are so fast at times. How do you practice machine gunning and 16th notes effectively? Help me please!!!!
im supposing ur talking about guitar and not bass drums like ff is known for. it takes a while, use a lot of practice, scales help....ah ****, scales dont do **** for me, just practice crazy intros like cemetery gates, call of ktulu. alhtough you may suck at them, its ok just get practicing with them until you can play them faster and faster, after that just try som trem. picking maybe. by this time your wrist should be loose and ready to fly! although i hate to say it along with the cliche, but practice makes perfect.
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Peavey Valveking 112
Line 6 über-Metal Pedal

Quote by pwrmax
All you care about is looks? No wonder you have it hard.

Quote by srvflood
You can't have sex with her personality.
16th notes aren't necessarily fast. Neither are 32nds or 64ths. It all depends on the tempo of the song. If you have 16th notes at q=50, it sounds like a crawl. Just pointing that out.

...and yeah, use a metronome.
choose a scale to work with (that only spans 4 frets since were practicing speed)

find your cruise speed on your metronome (itll seem slow, but thats the point)

go up and down the scale in halves twice, then do it 2 times in 1/4, then 2 times in 8ths, then 2 times in 16ths.

then do the opposite.... twice in 16ths, 8ths, 1/4s, 1/2s....

then, start mixing it up a bit more... once in 1/2, twice in 1/8, twice in 1/4, thrice in 1/16, etc... or go up the scale in 1/2 and down in 1/8...

practice going in small bursts

also, make sure that the joints of the 2 fingers you hold your pick with dont move. the wrist does the motion.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=lXHLEovx9rA