Ok guys,

I have to say I am a decently proficent guitarist. I have been playing and taking formal lessons for about a year and a half, and I can handle some diffucult stuff. But I was just flippin' around in some old magazines and I see a huge article "IMPROVE YOUR IMPROV!!!" While Im thinking, "this is the exact article I need!" So I open it up, and then I see all this lingo that I have absoultley NO clue about, basically, I am a theory n00b, so I was wondering if I could ask some stuff on here, so you guys could clarify for me...

(This is from a "JAM" soling improv lesson")

"In the diverse world of jam-band soloing, two key elements appear, modal explanations, and rhythmic motifs"

what??? This is two sentences in, and I am totally lost, modal explations??? rhythmic motifs???

Some fine examples include, Jerry Garcia's E Ioanian (E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D#), or Duane Allman, and Dickey Betts' A Dorinan (A-B-C-D-E-F#-G)

I have heard this before, yet I still know nothing, all I know about soloing is the penatonic scale, and not much more, and it is time for me to move on...

What scale is the E Ioanin?, and what does (E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D#) mean?
What scale is the G Mixolian?, and what does (G-A-B-C-D-E-F) mean?
What scale is the A Dorian?, and what does (A-B-C-D-E-F#-G) mean?
How Do I Use scales in Imporovisation?
What licks can I use in my soloing?
How can I improv my rhythm guitar to help my leads?

As the written lesson continues, it shows an example of a jam band solo. I moves on through many diffrent motifs, and has tons of licks like...

E--------------------------------------------
B-----------------3--5-6---3---------------
G------2--4--5--------------------5h4-----
D---5----------------------------------------
A---------------------------------------------
E---------------------------------------------