well i've quit my rock band as its **** and noone wants to play the same stuff, and i've gotten back into COB, megadeth, A7X, some metallica, iron maiden, black sabbath, and some pantera and slayer... stuff like that

I've been playing for 2 years and i know its going to take me a fair bit of time to get the solo's down to all them songs, which is the main issue. I can play the hole of iron man, enter sandman, most of MOP, rebell yell cover by COB and the majority of a few megadeth songs...

what i wanna know is where do i start... i am still working on my speed, and i want to get my practice up more as i've been a bit slack this last month or so due to other commitments... i'm thinking off getting guitar lessons off another guy maybe as he has alot of expirience in this field... but my guitar teacher has caught on and is going to maybe ring around and get us some decent resources to start the journey... boring stuff to play isnt my cup of tea.... like grinspoon arctic monkeys.. all that stuff isnt my cup of tea and is what everyone else loves around me....

Me and my current teacher are going to start using electrics to give us a bit more of an edge.... anyone got any suggestions or storys that mite make me more inspired and focuses, or song reccomendations....

oh i can play alot more songs.. but thats all that kinda came to mind in that sort of above piss easy in this field...
ESP CUSTOM SHOP HORIZON
FENDER USA STRAT
JACKSON DK2M
Peavey 5150ii w/ Marshall 1960DM cab
Learn some scales and learn to improvise solos and such. You'd impress more people by making a solo right out of your head, rather than playing a solo written by someone else.
Sent from my iPad.
Ask your teacher about music theory, as the guy said above, even knowing 1-2 scales can be you're biggest weapon in improvising, I remember, my crap friend could always own me at solo dauls, because he had theory down, now he dosn't really stand a chance.