ive been playing guitar for about 7 months and everything i have learned has been selftaught
my progress hasnt been bad but i know there are enough places that i need improvement on
i was wondering everybody's thoughts on whether i should take lessons or if i should continue teaching myself
will taking lessons increase my rate of progress....and are lessons worth the money?
im asking this cuz id rather not waste the money on unneeded lessons
thanks
ive been playing for about a year and a half and i havnt had a single lesson and im doing pretty well. i personally dont think lessons are worth it because all my friends that are taking lessons suck because they have to go through all the worthless crap. but create your own practice schedule and play what you like and you'll be fine
Lessons will always help. People that don't get a better understanding or have better technique after getting lessons, haven't spent the time finding the right teacher. Read Tom Hess's article about finding the right teacher, it's very good.
All Hail! The Kala-Kala Chieftain!
ther have been alot of times i thought i didtn need lessons.i thought i knew everything there is to kno but them something totally new comes up.. just asking questions from an experienced guitar player has increased my playing incredibly...asking about tapping and barre chords and sweeping and bend taps and scales and soloing and everything..it has sped up my playing abilities dramatically.. and it all has helped and u cant learn that all on websites, so i would definetly encourage taking lessons. and u can always stop getting lessons if u have a bad teacher, so theres nothing really to lose
Depends.

In lessons you do a lot of scales and styles of music, and learn some of the finer points to theory, BUT, this is all stuff you can do on your own if you have the motivation.

I am not great, but I can play what I want to and I am self taught because I don't want to know scales, I play chords around the campfire!