I've been playing for about 8 months but I am ready to trade in my G&L for something different. I am looking at the LTD EC-400AT and the EC-1000, aside from hardware and finish, one has 22 frets and one has 24, I am assuming that the other 2 frets are for soloing, but I am thinking about going with EMG's in the 400 if I get it, I've heard that having 22 frets will give the neck pup a smoother, warmer tone then the 24, is this true? Is this something I will notice if I played both one beside the other?
Guitar:
ESP LTD EC-1000 STBC

Bass:
Fender MIA Black/Maple Jazz 4 String
Ampeg B-40 4x10 Cab
Ampeg SVT3 Pro
with 22 frets, the neck pickup can be located farther from the bridge, making it warmer in tone, but less range

but with bass, the neck pickup is more in the mid position, so it doesn't matter as much...
duh it makes a difference, 2 frets dumbo. it doest really matter unless you really want that extra note or two on the high e string, cuz the notes you can get on the others can just be acheived by moving over strings. 24 fret neck are a little bit longer obviously, and a little bit more comforatble, for me anyways.
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Peavey Valveking 112
Line 6 über-Metal Pedal

Quote by pwrmax
All you care about is looks? No wonder you have it hard.

Quote by srvflood
You can't have sex with her personality.
Yes, and I do need 24 frets.

I don't mind IC400 22 frets though, but that's pretty much it.

24 frets is like having 6 fingers, more resources, but remember, just because the frets end here doesn't mean the music stops there.
i used to have 22 frets on my strat, but then i bought a new guitar which has 24 frets, and i must say, i much prefer having those extra 2 frets, just so that if i want to learn a song that needs you to play the 23rd/24th fret, i can.
Been away, am back
Yeah, I'm thinking of buying a new guitar with 24 frets, because if you wanna play fret 22, it's kind of hard. Especially when you're playing Selkies. It's just more room.