Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. I've learnt several guitar scales and I was informed that the scales are useful in soloing. However I don't know how to apply the scales in not even a single solo. Is there any specific method to do so? Thanks.
the scales are just guidlines of what notes sound good together. Pretty much they give you a better understanding of "where to go next" and places to look to get cool solo licks. You can move a scale up or down the neck to a different place as long as its played the same just on different frets then just fiddle around with the combinations of notes.

Im a ohrrible explainer
And before he died, Taran-Ish had scrawled upon the altar of chrysolite with coarse shaky strokes the sign of DOOM.
mmmk, basically a scale is something designed for the key your in. ex-if your in the key of e then you can play a solo thats in the key of e over anything in the song and it will sound ok. How to determine the key you might ask...well its usually the first chord of the song.
Founder of the EHX Users Guild
My Photography

Quote by Kyle-Rehm
Please don't tell me I'm the only one that clicked this thread thinking I would learn how to make my guitar sound like a grizzly bear.
Quote by deadmansdiary
the scales are just guidlines of what notes sound good together. Pretty much they give you a better understanding of "where to go next" and places to look to get cool solo licks. You can move a scale up or down the neck to a different place as long as its played the same just on different frets then just fiddle around with the combinations of notes.

Im a ohrrible explainer

I actually understand your explaination. Thanks. The point is, I have to play the same key, right?