Hey,

I've been playing guitar for about nine months now on and off, minus 3 months spent in the forest as a treeplanter where I thought I would end up playing alot but didn't end up playing once.

Anyways, I started playing because I wanted to learn to play "Classical Gas", which I heard at a friends house I ended up finishing it using a tab from this site, after that I just played around with finger picking exercises and learned little parts of little songs but now I'm sort've in a rut and don't know how to get out of it.

I really do like playing guitar and want to stick with it, due to the way I ended up learning to play I'm pretty good with fingerpicking what I need to learn is musical theory, so I can just pick along with friends while they are strumming or playing something. Does anyone know of any great methods for memorizing all the notes on the fretboard as well as any tips on developing my ability to just jump along and pick somethign subtle while people are playing.

Also, if there is anything I haven't asked please feel free to spill your guts on any millions of exercises or techniques I should be developing, and if I haven't made it quite clear all I really want to be able to do is pick along with people's songs. I have good rhythm for strumming and everything I'm just sort've obsessed with finger picking and I think it can add a nice flavor to almost any campfire tune

Ok take care,
Thanks

Trev
well, at least your honest, but guitars don't come with cheat sheets, it takes work to learn it...
Browse the web for excersizes in scales and modes and learn the circle of 5ths and everything else.
Learning the fretboard comes from playing the fretboard. Your fingers will memorise it better than your brain ever will.
~ J6hn
Quote by demonhunter2
well, at least your honest, but guitars don't come with cheat sheets, it takes work to learn it...

You forgot to say anything of worth.