alright im a 13 year old guitarist and im looking into recording a full band. im just looking for general knowledge on recording. I think you put a mixer plugged into a recorder or interface? idk. anyway, i currently dont have any equipment so if you know whats good for just amateur, decent sounding recordings, and how to use it, id like to know. thanks
Quote by primusfan
...to be honest, we tried so many different weird positions I can't remember exactly the set up...
How much do you want to spend?
Do you have a computer that can be used to do everything?
How much do you know right now?
What kind of things would yo like to know?
well. this is just what i use. fruity loop 5 producer edition is the program that i use to mix tracks and stuff. i use GT player to record track while having the fruity loop metronome running. and m-audio fast track is where i plug my guitar thru usb port. also the m-audio required monitors or u can plug it into your home system. a lot of people dont like FL, saying it's not good to track whole song n stuff, only good for short loops is totally wrong. i have no problem mixing multiple audio tracks plus midi sequence that i made with FL. ( drums, piano, synth type of stuff like that.)
also here's my comp specs
1.9gz pentium 4
512 ram <--need upgrade but ok not experiencing any lag when recordin or mixing.
bull**** soundcard which doesnt matter because m-audio is my soundcard now.

also i don't recommend using any effects from GT player. run external effects and if possible mic your amp.

hope its helpful

btw all i spent was $500 $100 for the m-audio, 300 for the FL and 100 for sm57