I took this from a topic in the pit.

I'm a sophomore in highschool, and even though it's a couple years off I'm thinking about college. Right now the idea of being a session musician interests me. What would one major in to be one, and how would one go about becoming one?
There have been articles done about this. Go check them out. They will give you insight.
Quote by DunlopGuy
I...don't...get...this...thre (brain explodes)

Quote by glib homunculus
I make love to cheesecake.

Quote by TheGreatLSD
There have been articles done about this. Go check them out. They will give you insight.

Ok, thanks.
Try looking up Tom Hess on this site.. I think he did some things like this.
Quote by DunlopGuy
I...don't...get...this...thre (brain explodes)

Quote by glib homunculus
I make love to cheesecake.

I searched for him, but I can't find him. Where should I look, columns?
Well, I'm a junior and I also want to be a session musician. I don't know what college you plan on going to, but my goal is Berklee. A performance major is the major you're looking for, but you can honestly take quite a number of majors and still be perfectly qualified for the job. Most places won't look at your major as much as they will your professionalism, musical talent, and ability to get along with everyone. Basically, you need to have a portfolio that shows your talent well, you need to have a personality that will mesh with everyone, you need to be extremely reliable and versatile, and you need some kind of background in music, such as a degree from Berklee.

Once you got all that down, you're a prime candidate.
Quote by into the moat
G.I.T is another option