Hi all,

I am a complete novice, looking for advice on next guitar to buy. I just started out with and Ibanez GRX40 which I kinda like the feel of, neck seems about right, but then again I have nothing to compare it too.

I want to get something that is fairly decent and will last me a long time. I have pretty much worked out that I don't want a trem since at the moment I don't have much use for it and prefer to keep things simple. I also like to play with effects and stuff so I figure I can add trem in later with a peddle for if I need it. I play heavy-ish metal, mostly Audioslave at the moment and I like a heavy, bassy full tone type sound. I have a Zoom Fire-36 amp. I want something that meets the following:

1) Good for soloing.
2) Good for rhythm.
3) Good for shredding.
4) Heavy, full tone.
5) Fast neck.
6) Active EMGs.
....I like the look of the F-500.

Question is: Will the ESP LTD F-500 fit this bill? Is it more suited to metal rhythm guitar than soloing/shredding? ..and if so why? Part of the issue is I don't yet have enough experience to know what makes a guitar good for different playing styles i.e. rhythm vs soloing, and I guess I need an all-rounder. I would rather not spend a load of money now and end up limiting my playing style and development. Would something like ESP LTD MH-400NT be better? I have tried and F-500 in the shop and it feels good, but as I say, I think I don't really have enough experience to know yet

Also, anyone know where I can find out the neck measurements for ESP guitars? Can't find them on the site.

Best free guitar content site on the net: http://www.freelicks.net FreeLicks Guitar Lessons - free video, TAB, backing tracks

B)
Last edited by buttmonk at Sep 30, 2006,
I've never heard of an F-500 Anyways, I'd say check out the Schecter C-1 Hellraiser. It's suited for basically everything you listen.

EDIT: Just checked them out, that's a pretty sweet looking guitar. But still, I'd say keep the Schecter in mind.