I've been playing for 11 months now, and i'm playing stuff like Master of Puppets by Metallica, and I am starting to pick up on a couple songs by Lamb of God. I am taking lessons and learning theory and stuff like that. I still have one of those guitars that comes in those starter packages. I sort of want a new one, but dont know when a good time to get a new guitar would be. I am also doing bass in jazz band for school, and was just practicing on the EADG strings. Is that ok? Or should i get a bass to practice on for school instead and get a new guitar later? I would play on the school's bass that they have at school. But i would have to buy a special amp too if i got my own . Ya cant hear bass guitars without the amp for ****.

P.S. I was looking at the Ibanez RG350MDX. It's near the top of the list for best selling on www.musiciansfriend.com and i've read that the Ibanez RG series is good for metal.
Last edited by TacoPaco9317 at Sep 30, 2006,
You can get a new guitar whenever you want. Or if your not exactly rich, then wait until that guitar just doesn't cut it for you, OR you could bust out a crazy Hendrix-style solo in the middle of a jazz band concert and proceed to set your guitar on fire, and then get a new one. You would be a champ.

2004 MIM Strat w/ Fender Hot Noiseless pickups
Sovtek MiG 60
Avatar 2x12 w/ Celestion Greenbacks
Snark Tuner
MXR Custom Comp
Fulltone Full-Drive 2
Dunlop JHM3 Univibe
TC electronic Nova Delay
TC electronic Arena Reverb
Quote by MrDinkleberry
You can get a new guitar whenever you want. Or if your not exactly rich, then wait until that guitar just doesn't cut it for you, OR you could bust out a crazy Hendrix-style solo in the middle of a jazz band concert and proceed to set your guitar on fire, and then get a new one. You would be a champ.

sounds good lol