I am basically a beginner, but I don't want an absolutely crap guitar. I had one terrible squier tele before which began falling apart almost immediately and was not much fun to play. I've decided I can afford up to $300 this time around.

The thing is, I have pretty thick fingers, and a lot of the guitars I see at shops have quite thin necks. I realize this is supposed to help you play faster, but I think on many of these guitars the strings are just too close to be comfortable for me. Can anyone:

1) Recommend any guitars or styles that tend to have wider necks?

2) Give me an idea of what is considered wide and narrow (in inches, mm, whatever) so I can interpret specs?

Thanks.
I've seen Gibbie hollowbodies with thicker necks, but i'm not sure about one in the $300 range. Also these guitars can be limiting to blues and classics.

If you like the feel of them, Ibanez makes a few fairly decent Korean-made hollowbodies for around that price, but like i said, i'm not sure if their necks are as wide as some gibsons i've seen.
Quote by fulgentius
I am basically a beginner, but I don't want an absolutely crap guitar. I had one terrible squier tele before which began falling apart almost immediately and was not much fun to play. I've decided I can afford up to $300 this time around.

The thing is, I have pretty thick fingers, and a lot of the guitars I see at shops have quite thin necks. I realize this is supposed to help you play faster, but I think on many of these guitars the strings are just too close to be comfortable for me. Can anyone:

1) Recommend any guitars or styles that tend to have wider necks?

2) Give me an idea of what is considered wide and narrow (in inches, mm, whatever) so I can interpret specs?

Thanks.

Okay, $300.00 for a guitar right or thats with an amp as well? What type of music do you play?