Hey everyone, 2 days ago i bought an electric guitar, and an amplifier with it. So i started learning the major and minor chords. First i learned the E minor chord and D major chord. When i play one of these chords, one of the string get muted, i nkow the problem for this is what, one of my fingers are touching other frets, and to fix this, i need to hold the neck properly, but i dont know how. My question is can someone in somehoe tell me how to exactly hold the neck.

Second, i am having troubles changing my fingers from one chord to another, i mean touching the frets, i'm unable to aim the frets from going E minor to D major.Iif this second part needs more explanation, i will explain.
Thanks
holt your hand to the neck how you feel comfortable!
and its normal when you start..you just have to get used to it!
1. Try to place your thumb at the center and perpendicular to the neck (correct way)
2. You have to keep practicing to get it right; try to practice it at a slower pace and use a metronome.
A metronome is a device that counts time, but that is more necessary if you are trying to learn a song. It isn't really what you need for your problem. Just keep practicing your chords.
To finger open chords properly you need to have your thumb behind the neck in the centre....unless you have enormous hands!
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull
To finger open chords properly you need to have your thumb behind the neck in the centre....unless you have enormous hands!

I can finger any open chord with my thumb over the neck.

Do you have tiny hands or somesuch?
Member of the 7-String + ERG Legion.