As stated, I am a guitarist, not a bassist. Can anyone tell me why your standard powerchord that sounds great on guitar sounds crap on bass?
Because, generally bass is used for singles notes, or its own group of chords that are made diffrently (I think, Im just a guitarist who hangs around the bass forum for kicks, and to learn) to sound good on bass.
Founder of UG's David Bowie Fan Club. Pm to join.

Founder of UG's "Rockers against being freakishly skinny" Club. PM to join.
because lets say you strum an E5 chord from the bottom strings, (well i dont know WHY but) its so low that the sounds somehow become muffled. try playing them one octave higher than you generally would and theyll sound fine
I think a bass' four strings are the same as a guitar's four bottom strings except and octave lower. So if you try to play a power chord on bass it will be an octave lower making it sound bad.
I think it is because bass amps arent designed to blend the notes. Also, the strings on a guitar are much thinner, meaning they vibrate alot faster then bass strings which make the notes blend alot better on guitar.
If you play bass chords further up the neck, like furhter than the 7th fret, bass chords can sound really good
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Because the world already has too many rhythm guitarists?

Its the same reason chords sound muddy on the lower keys of a piano. With out getting to much in the science it has to do with the length of the sound wave and relative vibration of a low vs higher notes. Or to echo the above, it sounds muddy.
but i still think it has to do with baby jesus as perker_muse said
the srtings vidbrate too low for them to sound good.

after the 12th fret they tend to sound passable

Ibanez Soundgear 300 DX
Digitech BP 80
Ibanez SW 20 / Ampeg BA 115
Squire Affinity Strat
Line 6 Spider IV 15