I've been "playing" my guitar for about 2 years now,(im self taught), But i dont know how to build a solo....let alone improvise one.....can anyone help me out or give me a start?
you need to know what key your chord progression is in and then if it's a bluesy progression stick with the pentanonic scale which you can learn from the internet,
if it's like a slow rock ballad go ahead and use the natural minor scale which is also on the internet. I would suggest learning some licks from your favorite guitar player first, or you can also hit notes in that scale in random order and see what you get. Hope this helps
All you need in this life is ignorance and confidence, and then success is sure.
-Mark Twain
Its all about knowledge and theory. The more scales, you UNDERSTAND and know, The easier lead is. I would go ahead and learn all your major and minor scales, and in all of the different positions you can do them in. Just know that will vastly increase your improv skills. Theory is there to make you understand how all the chords, scales, etc... tie in together.

Once you know major and minor scales. when you hear a song, usually the first chord thats struck is the key of the song.

Lets take sweet home alabama for example. It is in the key of D major. So when doing lead to that song, you can use the D major scale, and every note will go with sweet home alabama. You can also use all the other notes, in there own scales.

When your playing a lead in major, You cant always play minor scales over a major chord prog. but if you slide 2 frets up from the starting note of the major scale, and play that minor scale it is called the "relative minor'.

And all of the notes in that will go along with the song too.

You cannot improvise correctly if you do not know your scales etc... or else you will end up sounding like Kurt cobain, even though im sure he knew some scales...
Quote by Chhalo2002