Poll: Should I be allowed to buy guitars and amps when I have saved for the money?
Poll Options
View poll results: Should I be allowed to buy guitars and amps when I have saved for the money?
Yes.
27 96%
No.
1 4%
Voters: 28.
This is a question primarily to professional and/or teaching guitar players.

My parents said they need "professional input" as to whether or not I should get a new guitar. They seem to think that all guitars are the same and are like machines rather than collectible items used for making music. That being said, I currently have an acoustic, electric, and an amp. I've been playing for roughly three years. I have been saving for a new guitar (don't tell me it's my money and I can use it where I want to, I've told them that before) to use for different sounds and different feels.

My question to you is: Do you think I should be allowed to buy new guitars and amps when I have saved for it (this is umpiring and birthday money, no allowance)?

A poll will be up, however I prefer you to also provide an opinion as I am going to print this out.
███████████████
We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams.
████████████
Yes. Your money is to spend as you would. ...But you already know that. The quality of a guitar is (generally speaking) directly proportional to the price of the guitar. A higher quality guitar will open whole new doors to you that were previously closed.

If you want to pursue music professionally or as a serious hobby, then you need the professional grade equipment to do so. Steve Vai doesn't use a $250 Ibanez GRG, now does does he? Pat Metheny doesn't use a $300 Ibanez Artcore.

Seriously though, your parents shouldn't have a say in the realm of your music. I can safely assume they are not musicans, and they obviously don't support your musical endevours, or at least not to the level that they should be. For this, I am truly sorry for you.

I hope that's helped some.