ok, so ive recently started a band. And there are 2 guitarist.. me being lead.

since im new to this whole thing i dont know how to start out..
wat is the difference between what a lead and rhythm guitarist plays apart from the chords and solos? what is a lead guitarist supposed to play in the verses?? kind of like.. what does slash play in the verses of Sweet Child O' Mine?

so yer can you give me sum advice please?
when the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace - jimi hendrix
They usually play along with the rhythm guitar... Sometimes they just sit there. It all depends.
Quote by minibrowny
Word on the street is, this girl called axel i think it was, spent the night in a disused barn eating owls.
Quote by mulletman500
I like my women like I like my coffee... male.

Yeah, but I sing like an amputee though.
Why?
'Cause. Can't hold a note, can't carry a tune.
Well most songs are actually built around the Rhythm guitar I think. Someone comes up with a chord progression, and some little rhythm, then the lead creates a melody based off of that progession. And sometimes the lead will also play the rhythm part, or just do nothing, like what the above poster said. This all from my experience, so take or whatever, it works for me and my band.

Love the Low end
Yeah. In some of the songs my bands play, there is a constant lead riff playing over the rhythym chords during the verses, and it plays a harmonized part in the chorus. In some songs, the lead just plays nothing during the verse until the chorus where the lead part kicks in.
thanks guys, much appreciated
when the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will know peace - jimi hendrix
I'd like to give you an example,maybe that of metallica.Or heck,trivium,if you're a modernist.