I'm an American, and we are getting a Rugby team at my high school. I've played football for 4 years straight and I'm really excited about trying out this new sport. Since it is new to me though, I am just learning the rules and have a few questions -

can you kick for points at any time that you want to? or only for a penalty or after a try. i mean, say your at your end of the field and you run all the way down until you are about 20 meters away and you dont think you can make it all the way for the try. are you aloud to kick?

there are only 15 players on the field at a time. according to my schools rules (and could someone please tell me if this is common) you can only have 3 substituted players in a game. i think thats ridiculous. so is that to tell me if there are 30 people on my team (and that would be a low number compared to my football team which had about 70) that 12 players will do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for the entire game? that seems ridiculous, since i have never played before i doubt i would be one of the top 15 players, and i dont go to practice and work my ass off just to watch the game.
My school has had a rugby team for a while ... so at the moment it feels like:
My school > Your school

That feels pretty good
Sent from my iPad.
1. yes, drop kicks for points (i think 3?) at any time, though, if you're that close, just go for the 5 point try, and let the kicker do the rest.

2. not in HS. i believe that in HS, like on my team for example, you are allowed to sub anyone at any time.

its a great game though. if you work at it, you can have tons of fun.

peace out
Rugby Union? or Rugby Leage?
We may be divorced..... but we're still cousins

I came 2nd in the January 2007 Punk-0-Matic Tournament
Quote by Rankles
I frequently put capes on all my teeth and they go out fighting crime together.
uhm..i think mine is called something like the palmetto rugby association..i dont know, its just a few highschools in my area.