yeah, ive been playing guitar for like 4 or 5 years...and can pretty mutch play any song with the help of tabs and get through it and memorized in a day or less without any problems, but lately ive been getting sorta fed up playing other peoples songs and really want to start making my own songs and understand why certain stuff sounds good together.

with that said, i was wondering what should i be seraching for on the internet to try and learn to help me know enough of the guitar to start making songs. i know some of you are probally gonna say a good guitarist can make songs and doesnt worry about stuff like, and its not good to follow formulas and stuff..but the thing is when im listening to a band, sometimes i can picture in my head and know what there playing...but i want to know WHY those chords and notes being played over it sounds good.

like what should i look for on here or google? is that sorta stuff called guitar theory? if anyone can help a little or alot, please do, thanks...and ask any sorta question if you dont understand ill try and answer it fully, sorry about the long post...

P.S. a kid i know was saying for me to learn melodies? or something im not sure..but i think he was talking about like single notes being played over like rythym

thanks
http://ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/for_beginners/learning_music_theory_the_beginning.html

1. Read the article in that link.

2. Think about posting a question.

3. Read it again.

4. Think hard about it.

5. Ask away.
Ok, I will do that. And look at that link.

- - -

But if there is still someone that can help, please
Yes it is guitar theory you are looking for. Try to learn intervals, scales, how to build chords, keys, and the circle of fifths. It takes a while to really get a grasp of this stuff if you teach yourself with online lessons so dont lose hope.

Some good sites:

www.ultimate-guitar.com (of course)
www.cyberfret.com
www.wholenote.com
www.musictheory.net
www.guitarlessonworld.com